Subscribe to Inked Magazine

Bold colors from Jess Yen

Twin Phoenix II

Yamantaka is one of Five Wisdom Kings, also known as the Five Guardian Kings. They are a group of Wisdom kings who represent the luminescent wisdom of the Buddha and protect the Five Dhyani Buddhas. Yamantaka’s name literally means “the terminator of death.” Within Buddhism, “terminating death” is a quality of all buddhas as they have stopped the cycle of rebirth. Yamantaka represents the goal of the practitioner journey to enlightenment. In Japan, he is the wrathful emanation of Amida Nyorai and is pictured with six faces, legs and arms holding various weapons while sitting on a white cow, symbolizing pure enlightenment.

See more at

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s